People’s ‘Most Beautiful Woman’ choices get more boring every year

jennifer-julia-jennifer-split

              When it comes to naming the year’s “Most Beautiful Woman,” People magazine has a history of selecting an uninspiring crop of Hollywood ladies.

The carefully vetted woman, who often has a movie or album to promote, usually gives the same guarded and lackadaisical commentary about beauty as any of the women before her and likely after. Relive that last decade’s worth of snoozing beauties and predictable quotes.

Angelina Jolie (2006)

gettyimages-505253228“She looks the most beautiful when she’s in the field — natural, no makeup, nothing,” fellow activist Wyclef Jean said of the famous pouty actress.

Drew Barrymore (2007)

gettyimages-512765230

“Some days I feel preppy,” Barrymore told the magazine. “Some days I feel rock ‘n’ roll. Some days I feel hippie. Some days I feel glamorous. Some days I feel like a rebellious 13-year-old boy. And I think all are acceptable.”

Kate Hudson (2008)

gettyimages-506743354

“I don’t even remember the last time I got a manicure,” Hudson revealed in 2008. “I even got to the point where I started waxing my own legs because I don’t have the time. I’d rather be home with Ryder sitting there waxing my legs. I haven’t gotten a facial in a million years. I don’t do those kinds of things. And when I do, I always think, ‘I should do this more often.’”

Christina Applegate (2009)

gettyimages-521634514

“I used to be really shy but I started to come into my own in my late 20s and early 30s,” Applegate shared, according to ABC News. “Now, I’m not afraid to speak up in a room full of people and be a part of the conversation.”

Julia Roberts (2010)

gettyimages-462215590“She’s as beautiful as ever,” said “Pretty Woman” director Garry Marshall. “She’s much more centered and calm now and not so stressed. She is quite the mom — very nurturing.” Roberts was also chosen for the title in 2005, 2000 and 1991.

Jennifer Lopez (2011)

gettyimages-504833306-1

“That’s when I’m my happiest,” Lopez said of being makeup-free. “Just being able to touch my face and rub my eyes and put my fingers in my hair and not having to worry about messing it up. It’s so much better.”

Beyoncé Knowles (2012)

gettyimages-4982311641“I felt more powerful than I’ve ever felt in my life,” Knowles said of giving birth to daughter Blue Ivy. “I felt connected to my body. I felt like I knew my purpose in the world.”

Gwyneth Paltrow (2013)

gettyimages-513780044

“Around the house, I’m in jeans and a T-shirt. I don’t really wear makeup. That’s what they’re used to,” she said of her soon-to-be ex-husband and kids. “He’ll make a joke about it. If I’ve gotten fully dressed up, he’ll be like, ‘Oh, wow! You’re Gwyneth Paltrow!’ Because he’s used to seeing me in like baggy shorts and frizzy hair.”

Lupita Nyong’o (2014)

gettyimages-474750287“It was exciting and just a major, major compliment,” the Oscar winner told the magazine about being honored. “I was happy for all the girls who would see me on [it] and feel a little more seen.”

Sandra Bullock (2015)

gettyimages-487877368-1“Real beauty is quiet. Especially in this town, it’s just so hard not to say, ‘Oh, I need to look like that,’” she explained to the publication. “No, be a good person, be a good mom, do a good job with the lunch, let someone cut in front of you who looks like they’re in a bigger hurry. The people I find most beautiful are the ones who aren’t trying.”

Jennifer Aniston (2016)

gettyimages-521020920

“I feel really beautiful when I finish a great workout,” she said. “Because I’ve taken care of my body, my endorphins are going, my blood is pumping. I’m taking care of the one body I have.” Aniston was also awarded the title in 2004.

1538809_1014541461941509_555177147306598489_n

